Hyperpat\’s HyperDay

SF, science, and daily living

Post Turkey Day Fun

Posted by hyperpat on November 27, 2006

Well, turkey day has come and gone, and I guess I can post something here now.

After the turkey I decided to indulge myself in my other hobby of note, namely chess. Played in a little local 2 day event on Saturday and Sunday, and played in the top section for a change, so I could test myself against people who really do know how to play.

Game 1 was a very good game – I got the better of the opening, then lost my way a little in the middlegame, but managed to hold on till the end game with equality. Then we traded rooks and were down to nothing but King and 4 pawns each. I thought and thought, and ended up making the wrong move, when the correct move was a very clear win. This against a high class A (1924).

Game 2 got even better, with lots of tactical combinations happening on both sides. I managed to come out of all the tactics the exchange up, and though it took awhile (70 moves) managed to win this one. The opponent was a low class A (1828).

Game 3 saw me playing the only lady player in this section. This one I wanted to kick myself on – I had the advantage and then blundered to lose, when I had at least a draw in the bag. Another high class A (1956).

Game 4 saw me paired with a high expert (2158) (who has been rated at master strength at one time, I know from previous run-ins with him).  This pairing was rather odd, mainly caused by the small number of players in this section, and would be my second game in a row with the black pieces – not what I was expecting for this last round, as I had figured I’d be paired against one of two other low class A’s. This was the only game where I was clearly outplayed, as he instituted a strong king-side attack that I did not manage to defend very well. I could plead a nasty headache I had as a result of Game 3, but the fact remains that I am still not capable of playing even-up against opponents of this caliber.

Net: 1 win, 3 losses, and a perfomance rating of 1780, not as good as I hoped, but still reasonable given my current rating of 1726.

3 Responses to “Post Turkey Day Fun”

  1. fencer said

    Do you play on any of the correspondence server chess sites (you have to make a move every few days)?

    I’ve played chess for many years as well, but not over-the-board anymore. My wife used to get choked when I would spend entire long weekends at a tournament!

    My rating over-the-board was Class A, and over the years at correspondence chess, I’ve managed to attain the title of correspondence chess master with the Canadian Correspondence Chess Association, although I’ve been querying them about it… not sure if the title is truly justified since I haven’t been playing all that well lately.

    Congratulations on your better than rated performance rating…

    Regards

  2. hyperpat said

    Don’t play on-line much. Did do a period over on GameKnot Chess, where I got up into the 2000s for a rating. Of course, rating numbers are subject to a lot of factors. I was rated at 1998 at one point by the USCF for over-the-board play – then came the big numbers deflation, where on average players dropped 150-200 rating points (this was admitted by the head of the ratings committee in an article in this month’s Chess Life). They have been trying to re-adjust the numbers so that a player who hasn’t changed in playing strength has a rating that doesn’t change, but they are still quite a ways from achieving that. I figure that I’m actually about a 1900 in today’s rating numbers, but I get to play so rarely that it may take a while for my rating to catch up.

  3. retro said

    This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

Leave a Reply

 
