Hyperpat\’s HyperDay

SF, science, and daily living

2010 Hugo Award Nominees and download packet

Posted by hyperpat on May 7, 2010

The new nominee list has been out for awhile, but now Aussiecon has put together a very nice download package that is available to any member of the con (either attending or just supporting). This package includes all the novels, novellas, novelettes, short stories, related works, etc that are on the list, which works out to a rather impressive amount of verbiage. An Aussiecon supporting membership cost $70 Australian (about $64 US), and there is simply no way you could assemble all the material in this package for anything close to that price. Aussiecon membership can be purchased online here. Especially for things like the short stories, it is difficult for an individual to obtain copies of all of these works, as they have been published in a wide variety of sources, of which some are fairly obscure. Of course, the intention of this is allow con members to make informed choices for the Hugo awards; it does not obviate the need to support the authors of this material with real purchases that they get royalty monies for.

The novel nominees are diverse, and of those I’ve read so far, well deserving of being on this ballot:

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest (Tor)
The City & The City by China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK)
Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America by Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)
Wake by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace; Penguin; Gollancz; Analog)
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)

So far, my choice is The Windup Girl, but final decisions will have to wait till I’ve read all of these. As Hugo voting closes on July 31, I need to get cracking (and so do you if you haven’t been doing your homework!).

5 Responses to “2010 Hugo Award Nominees and download packet”

  1. Doug Baker said

    I liked The Windup Girl okay but frankly I think it’s overrated. The way it’s written makes it a bit of stretch to think a non-sci fi fan would really understand what was going on. There is no real explanation of why the world he depicts devolved to what it is, which would have been helpful. And a little more on the ag biotech industry would have helped those who know less about it.

    So far I’d go with The City & the City

  2. hyperpat said

    Which just points up that different people will react to the same item differently. I had real trouble believing that ‘normal’ people could be schizophrenic enough to ignore and not see the ‘alternate’ city in Gaiman’s work. Whereas, The Windup Girl’s current world environment is built up only by inference, which to my mind is better than some large info-dump that would relate how the world got the way it is.

    • Doug Baker said

      Agreed, different people like different things. I didn’t want an info dump in Windup Girl per se, but it seemed out of context without a little bit of back story to it. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked the Windup Girl, I just think it had some weaknesses.

      I also kind of agree with your comment on City and the City, but for some reason I just really was intrigued by it.

      I liked the Sawyer book too, all three are worthy contenders. Just finished the second book in the trilogy, Watch, which I also liked.

      The other three are sitting here waiting to be read!

    • Doug Baker said

      BTW, do you know whether or not I’d be able to download the material to my Kindle if I signed up? I have the 6 novels already, but I’m thinking it might be worth it for the rest. One of these days I’ll have to go to a convention. Never been.

      • hyperpat said

        The download packet is a mix of .pdf, .doc, .html, and .rtf files, nothing really set up for Kindle that I know of.

        Cons are fun but it always seems like my work schedule interferes; just when I’m all set to go my boss tells me I have to go get on an airplane and fix some customer squawk. The last one I actually got to attend was the 2002 San Jose Worldcon!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

